Luck has nothing to do with it.

Tania asks me if New Zealand is sunny during mid winter or dull and dreary, and I’m happy to say many winter days are sunny and beautiful. Our skies are often clear and crisp and with many days averaging 11 plus degrees and nights 6 -8 not that cold at all. This is Kahu and I planting the Koru garden. Check out how she’s not getting dirty knees…

I had ticked all the boxes. Paid the twentieths and the IRD, planted the garlic and got the shrubs into the Koru garden ready for a garden wedding picnic in November, forwarded the briefs for next month ads and wrote the kids page. Number ten grandchild was due and I was hoping all would be done before I got the call. Once I completed the last task, I was ready….and a Saturday night flight had me landed in Christchurch, in time for dinner. A gorgeous view of snow on the Port hills with the sunset behind as we came in.

Yvonne is a superb cook with crackers and nibbles selections before roast lamb with all the trimmings, or blue cheese and pear with caramelised walnuts on a bed of spinach followed by seared beef in a green salad. There is no doubt I will be taking home more kilos than I came down with, and they won’t be in my bag! My bag has aromatherapy oils to help with relaxation, endurance, adrenaline, and after for muscle rejuvenation. We discuss birthing, what worked and didn’t work last time and talk about preferences for this one. We talk about feeling capable and strong. I draw pictures of contractions. Beginning, middle and end and how we will breeeeathe through these. Now we have done all the planning, we wait for baby to be ready. All the things must fall into place before he or she shows and we fill our time with walks, the library, feeding the ducks and brrreeatthiiing.

The human body is amazing as it softens, stretches and grows while baby develops, until the time is right and the miracle of birth begins. Labour starts gently over a couple of days and ends beautifully at a lovely birthing unit that was less like a hospital and more like a home with a double bed, with Dads encouraged to stay. It’s not long before baby separates and begins a life outside her Mothers body, and the family grows.

She is beautiful with this ones nose and that ones feet. She is born on the shortest day of the year and during Matariki when Maori celebrate the Maori New Year heralded by the seven stars sometimes known as the seven sisters. Perfectly timed as she is the seventh girl in our lineup of Mokopuna. Her name will be given in time.

People say to me you’re so lucky to have ten grandchildren, but having five children to start with helps. They say you’re so lucky to be at their births, but I make no bones about the joy this brings me and I work hard to be useful. I have attended eight of the ten births so far, and many have been home births. I’m privileged to share this most precious of times with our children and luck has nothing to do with it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Luck has nothing to do with it.

  1. renanopolis says:

    Beautiful, beautiful post Mum. Made me cry in my homesick-ness!!!! And have stolen that last photo of Chee’s three girls for my screensaver. Love you!! XXXXX

Leave a Reply

